Puzzle #96 – Pent Words #1

Sorry, but due to technical limitations, this week’s puzzle is available only in PDF format.

I was introduced to a new type of puzzle in WordPlay Magazine called Pent Words, and I think it’s a fun little crossword variant. The puzzle was invented by Grant Fikes; he runs a neat puzzle blog with plenty of word and logic teasers of all sorts. Here’s one of my first efforts at a Pent Words puzzle; I hope you enjoy it! (Be sure to read the instructions and look at the example if you’ve never done one of these before.)

Let me know in the comments if you’d like me to post more variety puzzles (like this one) in the future.

This entry was posted in Moderate, Pent Words. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Puzzle #96 – Pent Words #1

  1. Jordan says:

    No thanks. More of your great crosswords, please!

  2. narayan says:

    nice!

  3. Joel says:

    I love it! I’m a sucker for variety puzzles in general. I’d enjoy to see you do more of them. And thanks for pointing out Grant’s blog; I’d never seen it before. Good stuff there!

  4. Norm says:

    No thank you.

  5. mathgrant says:

    Do I get a vote? If so, I vote for more variety puzzles, especially Pent Words. :P It was a nice change of pace to be on the solving end of one of these, even though I am ashamed to admit I had to use resources to appreciate its beauty.

    If you want to try other types of variety puzzles, Pathfinder has become another of my favorites after solving the ones in Wordplay and constructing four (one of which is on my blog right now) myself.

  6. paws4puzzles says:

    Reblogged this on Paws 4 Puzzles and commented:
    A cool variety puzzle from Neville Fogarty.

  7. jefe says:

    In general, I like variety puzzles. Solved this one without too much difficulty. No strong feelings either way about the format, but I much prefer your crosswords (especially for the electronic solving capability).

Leave a Reply

