Puzzle #86 – Spelling Counts

Look closely… that’s me in blue sitting with Anne Erdmann. It’s one of my favorite moment’s of last year’s… well, you know. I’m glad to discover that this picture exists. If you’re looking for me this weekend, I’m sorry to say that you’re out of luck. Maybe next year? Good luck to everyone competing!

I was honored (literally!) to be included in this post by Matt Gaffney earlier this week. Thanks, Matt! (I guess he’s just got a thing for meta-puzzles, huh?)

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but one of my favorite semi-annual puzzle affairs is the release of the Rainbow Charity Puzzles. They’ve just come out; you’ve got until the end of May to submit your entry. If you’re a fan of tough cryptic clues and websites straight out of 1998, you need to check it out ASAP. (Warning: some clues require knowledge of British culture.)

Finally, users of the Crosswords app for various Apple devices should notice a new puzzle now… it’s this one! Enjoy!

If you’re using Firefox, you may have a problem downloading puzzles now. (I don’t know why.) If right-clicking the links above doesn’t work for you, please consider temporarily switching browsers.

This entry was posted in Straightforward. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Puzzle #86 – Spelling Counts

  1. bananarchy says:

    Just when I thought all of the ACPT tribute themes had been done. Straightforward but tight, very nice as always. Bummer you won’t be around this weekend, but hope to see you next year!

  2. Jeff G. says:

    Cool theme, nicely done. 37 down – “Lace Ender” always reminds me of the Phineas and Ferb episode. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Evcsj1gx1CE

  3. glasser says:

    Great clue for 1 down!

  4. KCM says:

    I’m using Safari, and the .puz is not downloading. It downloads 86SpellingCounts.puz.txt. I haven’t had this problem before with your puzzles.

Leave a Reply

