Puzzle #83 – A Valentine’s Day in the Life

Happy Valentine’s Day! Here’s hoping you spend it with someone you love and/or a plate of delicious bacon. (I know which one I’m shooting for!)

So this past Sunday was the 50th anniversary of The Beatles’ American debut on The Ed Sullivan Show. I figured (correctly) that we’d see a few tribute crosswords for the event. Not wanting to compete with those, I figured I’d write a Beatles/Valentine’s Day puzzle. I hope you enjoy it!

Craving another Valentine’s Day puzzle and new to my site? Here’s last year’s lovefest.

(By the way, I changed the file name scheme again. Let me know what you think.)

This entry was posted in Moderate. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Puzzle #83 – A Valentine’s Day in the Life

  1. dave glasser says:

    Hopefully this is my last comment about file name schemes :) I just did a bunch of experiments involving making links to your puzzles and clicking them on my Android phone. What I’ve discovered is that there are two separate things that will cause Android Chrome to inexplicably change the suffix of the file from puz to txt (which breaks the ability for me to have it open in my app of choice).

    One of them is including the “?dl=1&token_hash=xxx” string. And another seems to be including certain weird characters, like the apostrophe in this week’s puzzle.

    So for example, https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/swi2nmadpe6umxu/nf0082.puz (last week’s puzzle) works fine, but it doesn’t work with the dl/token_hash stuff, and this week’s doesn’t work no matter what I do presumably because of the apostrophe.

    (I expected that the answer was going to be “dropbox sends different headers for different requests” but it looks like the issue is on the client side.)

    So my suggestion (if you want to optimize around my particular phone/app :) ) is to drop the dl/token_hash stuff from your link, and avoid putting characters like apostrophe in the file name.

    Now, to actually solve the *crossword* puzzle rather than the file type puzzle…

    • Neville says:

      That’s all quite interesting, Dave. I was under the impression that Dropbox needed me to include that hash as part of some settings in making the files public…. but it seems my impression was wrong!

      I think I’ve got it figured out now! Thanks for your help :)

  2. kdefg says:

    yes, please keep the leading number, so i can make certain I haven’t skipped any, and jamming the title or theme after that without spaces should satisfy the downloaders. (I’m old enough to remember DOS filenames being limited even further, and it still makes me twitchy to leave spaces in a filename!)

  3. Wonderful puzzle as always. I also just want to say that the new Mario Kart 8 characters are enough to get me to buy a Wii U.

  4. Jeff G. says:

    Still laughing at 9 down – that was a blast from the past. 12 down was clever as well. Lots of fun!

Leave a Reply

