Puzzle #74 – Caroling, Caroling

It’s a sing-along today! Not in the singing mood? Check out this classic Christmas crossword; it’s the one I posted last year.

Breaking News! Two constructors have recently come back to the world of independent puzzles, and I’m brimming with excitement! First, Andrew Ries returns at Aries Puzzles with a biweekly Rows Garden puzzle. This time around he’s offering a pay-what-you-want-pay subscription. Check it out now; he’s posted a free sampler… and that’s in addition to the 100+ existing puzzles still posted at Aries Puzzles! I’m in; are you?

Next, Peter Broda is back at The Cross Nerd after a year-long hiatus. This week’s puzzle is a themeless that throws the “breakfast test” out the window. I love that final across entry, Peter! (The Cross Nerd actually relaunched last week with a vowelless crossword; give it a shot if you can find the time between all of these cool puzzles.)

There’s a special anniversary next weekend. Better figure out some way to celebrate!

This entry was posted in Straightforward. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Puzzle #74 – Caroling, Caroling

  1. thecrossnerd says:

    Nice easy-breezy holiday treat! Some great long fill. Oddly, the clue I had the most trouble with was 21D. Really wanted VAC there. Oh, and thanks for the shout out!

  2. Norm says:

    Kind of a curious puzzle. Gimme themes helped with less-than-obvious fill. Usually the other way round. Liked it.

  3. mary.kazmer@comcast.net says:

    I didn’t open this puzzle because I got a warning that it may contain malware – what is going on?

    • Neville says:

      Mary,
      Were you trying to open the PUZ file or the PDF file? I don’t see a sign of malware on either. But I agree: better safe than sorry!

      Has anyone else had this problem?

  4. Norm says:

    Signature may be out of date. I’ve had that issue with Matt Gaffney’s puzzle contest for a while. Can’t open it at work because it doesn’t satisfy the auto-guardians of the system.

  5. Andy says:

    I LOL’d at “gag orders”

  6. e.a. says:

    the best way to spread christmas cheer is singing loud for all to hear.

  7. Jeff G. says:

    Thanks for bringing a little “Joy to the World”! The Christmas Classic from last year was quite an achievement in crossword construction!

  8. mary.kazmer@comcast.net says:

    I have not received a response to my previous e-mail. When I click on classic Christmas crossword, I get a message that it may contain malware. What is wrong?

    • Neville says:

      Mary,

      I responded to you in your comment above; I never got an email from you. I thought that you were talking about the current puzzle, not the classic puzzle.

      Indeed, I get a malware message in certain browsers (but not all). I tried deleting that post and reuploading it (losing all of the kind comments people had left in the process — don’t worry folks; I’ve saved them in my heart!), but that did not appear to help. I have never gotten a message like this before. As your browser suggests, proceed with caution, and I’ll look for a solution when I have the chance.

      In short, I don’t know what is wrong. In the mean time, you can download the puzzle here: puz, pdf, solution.

      Cheers,
      Neville

Leave a Reply

