Puzzle #61 – Olympian Mixtape (Side A)

Okay, stop everything. Have you been watching Million Second Quiz on NBC? Well as of this post, my pal Andy Kravis (who runs the excellent crossword site, Cruciverbalist at Law) is in first place with nearly $220,000! He’s kind of the best at this show. Unless something crazy happens, you’ll see him on the show tonight; check it out!

Now to the puzzle at hand. While contemplating the Greek gods recently (as one does), I asked myself, “Self, what if the Olympians got together and made a mixtape?” And thus this week’s puzzle was born. Expect Side B soon, of course. Oh, and did I mention that it’s a supersized puzzle?

This entry was posted in Moderate. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Puzzle #61 – Olympian Mixtape (Side A)

  1. Norm says:

    Fun. What I didn’t know was inferable, and each of the theme entries made me smile. Very nice.

  2. brucery says:

    Yeah, this was a fun puzzle. For the most part, I cruised through it. Great way to start the weekend. And thanks for the updates on Andy — on the West Coast, it’s a little screwy keeping up with broadcasts time-delayed three hours but the game happening in real time.

  3. buckeye bob says:

    Easier than last week’s vwlss puzzle. I had to Google TESTA, and still got 1 wrong (never heard of COBIA or IAN Terry), but enjoyed it. Clever theme. Looking forward to Side B!

    • Norm says:

      COBIA/IAN was a real borderline cross, but COBDA/COBJA/COBNA/COBVA looked worse. Maybe “lucky semi-informed guess” rather than “inferable” would better describe that one.

      • jpahk says:

        yeah, i’m not sure why this wasn’t just COBRA/RAN. fun puzzle, though.

      • Neville says:

        Indeed, that was a bit tricky. I love jpahk’s replacement. Not the first time I’ve gone with the “less fair” crossing (without realizing the other), and I bet it won’t be the last. (But I hope it is.)

  4. This was so much fun! The only problem is I’ve been randomly yelling “Nope!” (I had forgotten all about that meme.)

  5. Jeff G. says:

    Loved the songs on the mix tape. Lots of chuckles on a lot of the clues especially “Drink that’s out of this world”.

  6. Bob says:

    HRH (12-Down) is properly used only for princes and princesses, not kings and queens.

Leave a Reply

