Puzzle #47 – Two! Two! Two! Two!

What the deuce?

Two things happened last Friday that you might be interested in. First, I took a preliminary exam… and I passed! Thank you all for your good wishes. I’m now this much closer to getting my PhD. This much.

Second, and germane to this puzzle, there was a clue that ran in the New York Times crossword that perplexed me (and a bunch of other solvers). The clue was [Shout repeated at a basketball game] (3 letters). Now I don’t play much basketball, but I’ve gone to my share of games. (We don’t talk about this year’s college season though. Only last year’s.) I have never heard anyone shout “TWO” repeatedly at a basketball game, but that was answer. I’ve been informed by someone in the know that it’s “what people chant when one team is trying to score.” I’m still not buying it, so I wrote my own puzzle with its own spin. Enjoy and share!

This entry was posted in Straightforward. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Puzzle #47 – Two! Two! Two! Two!

  1. brucery says:

    Fun theme! I struggled a bit at the bottom, but the theme helped me push through. Liked/hated 47A and 49D (hated ’em while I was stuck, loved ’em when I figured them out). :)

  2. Michael says:

    I had never (consciously) heard of 52A before solving this puzzle. So of course the same thing shows up in today’s NYT puzzle, too. Pretty sure there’s a term for that, but I won’t remember it until it shows up in some other puzzle.

  3. Scott says:

    I count 16 answers in which the letters ‘T’ and ‘O’ appear. Too much fun.

  4. Andy says:

    This puzzle was anything but too-too!

  5. Jeff G. says:

    Too too much fun!

  6. jefe says:

    Congrats on the test!

    Benedict XVI resigned in February because he was too pooped to pope.

Leave a Reply

