Puzzle #46 – Web Crawlr

Today’s puzzle is a tiny one for two reasons. One: I wanted to keep the theme as tight as possible. That severely limited it. Two: I have what is ideally my final preliminary examination for graduate school this morning, so I’ve been devoting a lot of time to studying for it. Fingers crossed for me, yes? Please? Despite the size, my test solver took a lot of time on this one; it was this close from being labeled impossible. This close. I think it’s just challenging, though. Let’s see how you do. Share the puzzle when you’re finished; see you in June.

This entry was posted in Challenging. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Puzzle #46 – Web Crawlr

  1. Norm says:

    Definitely challenging. With the limited space & theme answers, I was baffled until the last two letters and then saw the light.

  2. brucery says:

    We must be on the same wavelength — 4:48 and I blazed thru it pretty easily (hit my areas of expertise). Clearly a freak event. Good luck on your test! :)

  3. buckeye bob says:

    Definitely challenging, but doable. Took me longer than normal. I do have a question – 35A – I think Enescu is a composer and Enesco is a company. Is the clue right? Good luck on your test!

    • Neville says:

      I’ve found this fascinating when I’ve looked it up before, so I’ll share it here:

      “George Enescu is still considered the greatest of all Romanian composers. While he is widely known for just one famous opus, he was in reality a very imaginative, highly skilled composer of music possessing great depth and subtlety, as well as being one of the great concert violinists of his time. For appearances in the West he adapted his name to a form that would prompt the French to pronounce it correctly: Georges Enesco.” – http://www.allmusic.com/artist/george-enescu-mn0001256809

      So yes! Absolutely Enescu is his birth name; I specified “Georges” to help clear it up (for those in the know). Certainly NUM is a reasonable entry, though. I picked the “O” spelling simply because that seems to be more common in crosswords (at least according to the information I have), as a chance of giving solvers a leg up in that corner. In this case, I guess that backfired!

      • buckeye bob says:

        Thanks, Neville. Nom made total sense. I did not know that Enesco is an alternative spelling of Enescu. My learning for today!

  4. Jim Schooler says:

    Very doable, and I think the title definitely helped. Good luck on your test!

  5. bananarchy says:

    Right in my wheelhouse I guess; aced it in 3:33 without trying to rush. Most of the trivia clues were gimmes for me, so that helped. I do appreciate the tightness of the theme and your restraint in executing it. It doesn’t need to be any bigger than it is, so why force it, right? Best of luck on the test, Neville!

  6. Avram says:

    I’d heard the 22A fact before, only it never made sense with the replacement member. Good to know.

  7. jefe says:

    3:24, hardly impossible. 31A and 35A were all crossings though.
    The title made it obvious what to expect, plus I remembered when BEQ did a similar theme: http://www.brendanemmettquigley.com/2012/03/crossword-421-site-specific.html

  8. Jeff G. says:

    Hey Neville, you brought your 19 across this week! Great theme!

  9. Jan says:

    Great theme – 4:05 for me. Good luck; or as we prefer to say here – Good Skill!

Leave a Reply

