Puzzle #45 – Cryptic #2

If you’re unfamiliar with cryptic crosswords, read today’s post before solving. Or not.

Hey, it’s time for another cryptic crossword! If you’re new to cryptics, here’s the primer I posted a link to last time. Good luck!

Remember the puzzlefest I put on Kickstarter back in March? Well, if you backed “The Games People Play,” check your email! You should have received two emails from me on Wednesday with PDF files of some awesome board game themed puzzles. If you backed but for some reason didn’t hear from me, please send me an email or a message on Kickstarter. There’s a cryptic puzzle in there, too! (I think this one’s a touch easier, though.)

If you missed out on backing my puzzlefest, don’t worry; I’m working on making it available for purchase. I’ll keep you posted on this site!

And as I mentioned last week, Peter Gordon has launched a project called Fireball Newsweekly Crosswords. Check it out; I’m looking forward to it!

This entry was posted in Cryptic, Moderate. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Puzzle #45 – Cryptic #2

  1. buckeye bob says:

    Neville,

    I think the Cryptics Primer link is missing? But I did find it attched to Cryptic puzzle #1.

  2. e.a. says:

    took me 41 minutes. 9A and 16D were my favorites.

  3. Paul Coulter says:

    8:33 on this. The construction was sound, and the level of difficulty appropriate for an American audience. Loved the Games People Play suite, too! Outstanding effort to tie in all the meta answers to the games, if that’s not giving too much away.

  4. jefe says:

    28:49 for me, what fun! 19D made me LOL; 13D was my favorite clue.

  5. Avram says:

    7:27. now to figure out some of the cryptic parts…

  6. Bob Kerfuffle says:

    Couldn’t finish, had 2 D incomplete and 17 A as EYES. Wondered why 17 A didn’t have a hint of “sounds like”, i.e., sounds like cries without the “c”. But that was because it is PEEKS without the “p”! Must admit, even after I looked at the solution it took awhile to work out 2 D, but perfectly good once I got it. (If I felt a bit of residual discomfort with the clue, it would be that “show”, while valid, is really, really wide open.)

  7. Al says:

    7:50, great cryptic, thanks!

Leave a Reply

