Puzzle #33 – Themeless #9

The creepiest picture I've posted on this site, bar none.

Gosh, there are so many exciting things for me to share with you today!

First: Next weekend is the American Crossword Puzzle Tournament, and I will be there! If you see me, be sure to say hello.

Second: Introducing a new way to solve! If you have an Android device, download Top Crossword Puzzles Free. (Not the catchiest name, but it gets the job done. And yes, it is free!) You’ll then be able to download my puzzle on Fridays directly from the app, as well as a host of other quality puzzles. Check it out.

Finally: Prepare for a cool new puzzle project from me! I’m Kickstarting an exciting new puzzlefest! Stay tuned for more information.

This entry was posted in Challenging. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Puzzle #33 – Themeless #9

  1. Ha! I get the significance of the picture, but things like that still makes me think “Magic is fun! We are dead.”

  2. Norm says:

    Lots of fun stuff in this one, but the SW was brutal. Never heard of 51A (never saw the show). Never heard of 56A (ditto). Never heard of 61A (and I was a math major many, many years ago). Took me ages to grok 59D even after I had the grid filled (never read tabloids or pay attention to such people). Boy, I’m sounding like an old f##t this morning. Let’s see if I can make up for it. Liked the cluing for 38A and 42A a lot. 60D was a nice new clue for an old standard. All in all, lots of fun. But that SW was brutal for the likes of me.

    • Neville says:

      Norm, you sound just like my test solver, and she’s certainly no old fart, so you aren’t either! She also had a tough time with that SW corner and, despite majoring in mathematics, wasn’t familiar with that term. (Maybe it’s something you don’t see until grad school? I’ll look into this.)

      • jefe says:

        The SW is where I finished too. Knew 51, didn’t know 56; 45 and 66 were inferrable by crossings. I’m pretty sure I have heard of 61 in some context (I minored in math); it does have its own Wikipedia article which I’m about to read.

  3. brucery says:

    That was a tough one. Phew! Almost gave up, but took a short break and finished it up. :)
    Looking forward to your Kickstarter campaign. :)

  4. buckeye bob says:

    I agree this was a tough one. Very tough for me. Got the NE corner first, then the NW, then the SE. After a long time, finally got the SW corner. Needed help from Google 6 times, all in the SE and SW. But it was a learning experience, and a fun challenge!

  5. MDS says:

    SW. 51A. ??? Else, good.

Leave a Reply

