Puzzle #27 – Themeless #8

I mean, I tried to get stuff done, but math is hard.

Shame on me for not reminding y’all last weekend about Andrew Ries’s crossword meta-puzzle contest. Consider this my apology. I’ve enjoyed it so far… but I haven’t quite cracked the final part of the puzzle. Have you?

Oh! This puzzle marks the site’s halfiversary! Feel free to cut the cake after you solve the puzzle. The test solver insisted on an impossible difficulty level, because “if you don’t know those titles or those names, you’re basically screwed.” I insist on it because of some obscure fill, and I apologize for that. Good luck! :)

This entry was posted in Impossible. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Puzzle #27 – Themeless #8

  1. e.a. says:

    perfect mixture of new (17a, 28d) and old (3d, 61a) stuff. fantastic clue at 47a

  2. Norm says:

    Agree with e.a. wholeheartedly. Had my doubts when I hit 58A (“oh s***, no way am I gonna solve this thing”) but there was enough classical stuff to get me through. Great puzzle.

  3. I finally just got started on Vegas Puzzlefest this week, so I’ve avoided looking at Ries’ set so far. Well, did one of them, but I’m trying to get the other done first. Stop tempting me. :-)

  4. Andy says:

    Really fun solve!

  5. brucery says:

    Tough but fun puzzle! :)

  6. Paul Coulter says:

    Great Puzzle! The new stuff readily inferrable.

  7. Ben says:

    For some reason really wanted jewfro as the answer to 50d!

Leave a Reply

