Puzzle #21 – Themeless #6

I honestly can't see anything in this. Thanks, Mom's genes.

Hey, have you signed up to get Patrick Blindauer’s Vegas Puzzlefest yet? That’s a link – you got the hook-up right here.

Warning: that first square’s going to be hard for some of you, hence “challenging” today. 1-Across was a seed entry, so I wasn’t ripping it out. I think you can still get it and the rest of the grid, though. You’re smart folks. See you next week with some exciting news; in the mean time, share this puzzle with a friend.

Update: You might have discovered this site from inveterate constructor Matt Gaffney. Well he’s plugged it again, but this time time it’s in a clue in a puzzle. Check it out here.

This entry was posted in Challenging. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Puzzle #21 – Themeless #6

  1. e.a. says:

    you know i’m a sucker for 47-A. dug the 23-D clue, haven’t seen that before.

  2. Midj says:

    My son does krav maga at Uni (and I still had to back into it as I was thinking missile defense) and his favorite book character of all time is Atticus Finch (studying to be a lawyer). Sent him pics of today’s puzzle as I got those answers. Thanks for a fun solve.

    • Neville says:

      Glad you enjoyed the puzzle. I was hoping that the clue for KRAV MAGA might provide a little mis(sile)-direction :)

      It’s funny how sometimes a few things with special meaning for someone can come together, especially in such an unrelated place. I’m happy to have been the conduit for this moment! Best of luck to your son in his studies.

  3. Norm says:

    I liked this one — a lot — despite never heard of 1A, which was readily inferable. Wanted At/IN GOLF for 61A and CLOWN CAR for 17A, but was quickly persuaded to the contrary. This one hit a lot of different areas. A nice workout.

  4. thecrossnerd says:

    For me, 1-A and 1-D were gimmes. It was the 62-A/52-D cross that Naticked me. Overall very nice, though. Loved the central long answer, because I’m a sucker for answers that I’ve never heard of with clues that make them inferable.

  5. jefe says:

    39D – “Bliblical”

    Mis(sile)directed me! I put IRON DOME, CLOWN CAR, and COMMANDMENTS (for 22A)

  6. buckeye bob says:

    Challenging, but doable. Some clues and answers were familiar, others were not, but were solvable with perps. No naticks for me. Wanted BOY for 25A, but perps fixed it. Wanted SENS at 12D, again perps saved me. Good workout!

Leave a Reply

