Puzzle #6 – Themeless #2

Loud Trebek

Back with another themeless; it should be challenging but fair (i.e., less pop culture than the first themeless puzzle). I usually stick to 72-word themelesses, but this one’s just 70. I guess the stars aligned for me this time. You might notice a few entries that seem to be related – that’s just how the puzzle worked out in construction; it’s not a “Ha! There really was a theme!” trick. I swear!

Oh, and the picture? That’s Trebek emulating me yelling at the television as I wait for the new season of Jeopardy! to start.

This entry was posted in Challenging. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Puzzle #6 – Themeless #2

  1. Jan says:

    Lots of great stuff in there! Should the clue for 44A refer to 26A (rather than 20A)?

  2. Jeanie says:

    Ha! I know exactly where that Trebek picture came from. :-)
    I was hopeless on 7-down for sure, as well as the lower left corner. I tried to make “laser” fit in 61-across somewhere, despite the picture of Mr. Trebek. But I still enjoyed the puzzle! Thanks, Neville!

  3. Andrew Feist says:

    I knew who 7A was, but wouldn’t have been able to tell you the cabinet position myself. Had (maybe) the right idea for 42A right away, but didn’t pick quite the right word. :)

    Also, Coca-Cola Freestyle has strongly influenced my choice of restaurants.

  4. Norm says:

    Typo in 29A: “Compar[a]tively cacophonous” — and, something can be “as loud” without being as “cacophonous” since the latter has discordant qualities that go beyond mere volume, but one knew what you meant. Nice workout for the brain this week.

    • Neville says:

      Good catch, Norm – thanks! I’ve got a weak left pinky, I think, and weaker eyes for editing this week!

      Yeah, I knew I was walking a line with “cacophonous” in the clue. I was using the logic that something that’s cacophonous must be loud, but the converse doesn’t necessarily hold. Of course, maybe I’m wrong – is there such a thing as a quiet cacophony?

  5. Andy says:

    Great puzzle, Neville, super smooth!

  6. Leo Stein says:

    Was happy to know 7D off the top of my head. Also happy to see myself in the puzzle!

  7. Peter Broda says:

    Great stuff, Neville. Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

